Lumina (2020)

For Chamber Orchestra
Perseid – Aurora – Sol

Lumina unfolds in three continuous sections: Perseid, Aurora, and Sol. It is a musical evocation of natural light phenomena in the night’s sky.

Named after the annual meteor shower, the opening section begins with soft chords played by the strings representing the stillness of night. Occasional bursts of short, fast moving scales in the woodwinds indicate meteors briefly disturbing the clear, star filled tapestry.

This section is named after the famous northern lights. Active scales in the strings and quick imitative figures in the woodwinds and brass represent the shimmering dancing light of this spectral phenomenon.

Lumina concludes with the sun, the most visible star, rising to fill the sky with its powerful light.

[ca. 11 minutes]

Score excerpts